Table of Contents
Is texting and driving legal in Iowa?
Yes. Currently, Iowa prohibits: All drivers from reading, writing, or sending text messages or typing into any other portable device unless the vehicle is stopped and pulled off the traveled portion of the road.
Why is texting while driving illegal?
Some states have completely banned the handheld use of cell phones while driving to eliminate any confusion about what is and isn’t allowed. Texting and driving makes a crash up to 23 times more likely. According to a recent study, distracted driving is six times more dangerous than drunk driving.
Is texting and driving a moving violation in Iowa?
If drivers are found to have read, written or sent text messages or emails while driving, they will be guilty of a simple misdemeanor with a fine of $100, including court costs. Violation does not constitute a “moving violation” and will not give rise to a suspension of your license.
What states is it illegal to text and drive?
The states that currently have a prohibition on texting while driving are as follows:
- Arkansas (except in emergencies)
When did texting and driving become illegal Iowa?
Texting and Driving Laws in Iowa In 2010, Iowa became the 21st state to ban texting while driving. These are the laws in Iowa: For teen drivers, sending or receiving a text is a primary offense, meaning law enforcement has the authority to initiate a traffic stop if they observe a young driver texting.
Can you talk on your phone and drive in Iowa?
Iowa law permits most motorists to make and receive calls and talk on the phone while driving. However, drivers who are using an instruction permit or intermediate driver’s license (typically, drivers under the age of 18) are generally prohibited from all electronic device use while driving, including calls.
Is hands free while driving illegal?
The Law. It is illegal to use a handheld mobile phone or similar device when driving, stopped at traffic lights or queuing in traffic. You can be prosecuted for using a hands free phone or similar device if you are distracted and not in proper control of the vehicle. The same penalties apply as for hand held phones.
How many deaths are caused by texting and driving?
Texting and driving deaths per year About 400 fatal crashes happen each year as a direct result of texting and driving. That number increases to over 30,000 when you consider distracted driving as a whole, according to the NHTSA.
Is it illegal to be on your phone in Iowa?
Iowa’s distracted driving law generally bans all text and electronic messaging while driving. But for most drivers, there aren’t any restrictions on talking on the phone while driving.
Is Iowa a hands free driving state?
It is illegal to text while driving in Iowa, but drivers cannot be ticketed for having a cell phone in their hand while driving. Today 26 other states have laws that ban motorists from using cell phones while driving, unless they’re making calls through the software in their dashboard.
When did it become illegal to text and drive?
Beginning in July 2008, cellular phone use was restricted to hands free for drivers 18 years and older and prohibited for drivers under 18 years of age. As of January 1, 2009 all drivers are prohibited from texting while driving a vehicle. Here are some important points related to the laws.
Is driving and talking on the phone illegal in Iowa?