Who is the most successful player at the World Snooker Championship?

Who is the most successful player at the World Snooker Championship?

The most successful player at the World Snooker Championship is Joe Davis, who won fifteen consecutive titles between 1927 and 1946.

How many titles has Parrott won in snooker?

Parrott has won 9 ranking and 7 non-ranking tournaments. He won the World Snooker Championship and the UK Championship in 1991. Two years earlier he had lost 3-18 to Steve Davis, the biggest World Championship final defeat of a professional snooker player in modern times.

When was the First World Snooker Championship held?

World Snooker Championship: Brief history, stats. The World Snooker Championship is an International competition held annually under the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA). since its 1st tournament was held in 1927 & winner is Joe Davis.

Who won the 2002 World Snooker Championship?

He won the World Snooker Championship in 2002, defeating Stephen Hendry 18-17, and was runner-up in the 1996 and 2006 events. The 43-year-old has gathered £3 million in career prize money. He is ranked 23rd in the current Snooker World Rankings, and his highest ranking to date is 3rd in 1996-97 and 2002-03.

Stephen Hendry
Stephen Hendry holds the record for the most world titles in the modern era, having won the tournament seven times. Ray Reardon, Steve Davis, and Ronnie O’Sullivan have each won six titles; John Higgins and Mark Selby have won four; John Spencer and Mark Williams have both won three; and Alex Higgins has won two.

When did Pakistan win snooker championship?

In November 2019, Asif defeated Jefrey Roda of Philippines 8–5 in Antalya, Turkey to win his second IBSF World Snooker Championship title.

Who won the 1992 World Snooker Championship?

Stephen Hendry was the eventual winner, after defeating Jimmy White 18–14 in the final. At one point White led by 14–8, but Hendry then won 10 successive frames to secure his second World Championship title….1992 World Snooker Championship.

Tournament information
Country England
Organisation WPBSA
Format Ranking event
Total prize fund £850,000

Who won the 1995 world Snooker Championship?

1995 World Snooker Championship

Tournament information
Champion Stephen Hendry ( SCO )
Runner-up Nigel Bond ( ENG )
Score 18–9
← 1994 1996 →

Who won the 1998 Snooker World Championship?

John Higgins
John Higgins wins snooker world championship 1998. The profusion of snooker stars in Scotland can be attributed to two things: the popularity that television brought to the sport in the seventies and eigthies and the success of Stephen Hendry.

Who won the World Snooker Championship in 1972?

Alex Higgins
The 1972 World Snooker Championship (also known as 1972 Park Drive World Snooker Championship for sponsorship reasons) was a professional snooker tournament that took place between March 1971 and 26 February 1972. Alex Higgins won his first World title beating John Spencer 37–32 in the final.

Who won the 1999 World Snooker Championship?

1999 World Snooker Championship

Tournament information
Champion Stephen Hendry ( SCO )
Runner-up Mark Williams ( WAL )
Score 18–11
← 1998 2000 →

When was the last time snooker was held in the 1950s?

In the 1950s snooker went into a period of decline and the championship was not held after 1952, although an unofficial championship was held until 1957. In 1964 the championship was revived on a challenge basis and in 1969 the championship became a knock-out event again.

Who has won the PGA Championship the most times?

The record in the modern era, usually dated from the reintroduction in 1969 of a knock-out tournament format, rather than a challenge format, is held by Stephen Hendry, who won the title seven times between 1990 and 1999.